MBA North Annual Awards Dinner- Celebrating 115 years

The Annual Awards Dinner 2019 took place at The Venue,  Melrose Arch for the Association’s 115-year  celebration. Key-note speaker and SAPOA President, David Green shared a few words about the state of the economy and industry. He said that the wheels of change turn very slowly- by illustrating that since 1996 South Africans are still dealing with some of the same challenges: SAA in the red and  institutions consolidating their property portfolios. South Africa’s listed property offshore exposure has grown from 1% in 2009 to 42% in 2018. Bulgaria’s top 3 malls are owned by South Africans. He spoke about the importance for President Ramaphosa to create an environment that is conducive and favourable for investment. Where rates and taxes are manageable and services like water and electricity are easily accessible and reliable in order to attract and keep investment in the country.

The Association President Mr Musa Shangase presented the Presidential Award to Ms Liana Van Der Walt- Founder and Managing Director of Edelweiss Glass & Aluminium for her consistent contribution to the Master Builders Association North and the Master Builders South Africa Federation. Ms. Van Der Walt is an Executive Committee Member of Master Builders Association North. She serves in the finance Committee and is Chairperson of the Legal & Contractual and Sub-Contractors Committees. She has served in several key committees since becoming a member of MBA North in 1985. Congratulations to her on this achievement.

Mr Shangase presented a tribute for the work of members during the Association’s 115 years. He thanked members for their support and urged them to continue the work of reviving the industry in partnership with the Association

Executive Director, Mohau Mphomela, welcomed guests and thanked members and the sponsors who enabled this event to take place during challenging times. ‘’Thank you to Anquet Construction, Derbigum and JBC Roofcover for sponsoring the Annual Awards Dinner 2019 and congratulations to the Long- Standing Member Award Recipients’’.

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”1″ display=”basic_thumbnail” thumbnail_crop=”0″] 

Scroll to Top