MBA Award Recipients

CHS Awards 2013

Members of the Bello & Kies management team at the regional safety awards

MBA North members entered in eight of the 10 categories this year, Master Builders Association (MBA) North members won two first prizes, four second prizes, and a third prize an improvement in the overall performance.

Belo and Kies Construction did not disappoint and improved on their 2012 performance being a multi-award winner;

  • 1st – R10m to R25m Xrata Spares Stores Ogies
  • 2nd – Less than R10m Abbortsford Block C Houghton
  • 3rd – Jozini Shopping Centre Jozini KZN

Other results:

  • Plant Storage Yards: Tiber Bonvec Construction – Village Deep Yard – 2nd Place
  • R25 to R75 Million: Gothic Construction (Pty) Ltd – ACDC Warehouse – 5th Place
  • R75 to R150 Million: WBHO Construction (Pty) Ltd – Club Phase 4 – 2nd Place
  • R150 to R300 Million: WBHO Construction (Pty) Ltd – 90 Grayston – 3rd Place
  • R300 to R500 Million: Group Five Building – Group Five Head Office – 2nd Place

The MBA North region came out winner of the top category for the second time in three years in the R500 Million plus category Stefanutti Stocks / Basil Read JV Kusile Power Station – 1st Place

CHS Awards 2012

The year 2012 did not produce the follow up results we were expecting after the achievements of 2011.

The Gauteng region only entered projects into seven out of a possible 10 categories, achieving two 1st places, one second, and one third place.Aveng Grinaker-LTA followed up their 1st place in 2011 with another 1st place for the same project namely Medupi Power Station p35 A/C.

Stefanutti Stocks narrowly missed out on a 1st place in the R120m to R200m going down by a mere 0.95%.

There were a number of companies who did not have much experience in the competition, particularly Belo & Kies, their results showed they meant business and the Gauteng Province in the 2013 competition believed that better results could be achieved.

Stephen Friend, Alfred Leseka and Stephan
Thompson From Aveng Grinaker-LTA receive
the 1st place award in the R200m to R500m
category from Danie Hattingh.

Dewald Niemandt and Jaco Underhay from Stefanutti
Stocks won in the R120m to R200m category 1st place.

CHS Awards 2011

In 2011 the Gauteng region shocked KZN that has dominated the competition over the last 10 years by producing winners in all three of the top categorie:

  • R120m to R200m – Stefannuti Stocks – KPMG Head Office
  • R200m to R500m – Aveng Grinaker-LTA – Medupi Power Station p35 A/C
  • R500m plus – WBHO / Tiber Bonvec Construction – 115 West street

Arlindo da Costa WBHO (2nd left) and Trevor Dillon
Tiber Bonvec (far right) receive their award from
Danie Hattingh, President of MBSA and Tshepo
Moleko MBSA OHS manager.

The team from Aveng Grinaker-LTA receive their award
for the Medupi Power Station p35 A/C project

Michelle Kok and Kobus Koekemoer from Stefannuti
Stocks receive their award.

Our Partners